How to get through a heartbreak

Hello everybody!

I was going through my first real heartbreak last week (and I’m still processing everything) and therefore I have accumulated a few tips on how to survive this time.

Let your emotions out
The most important thing you have to remember during the heartbreak is to let your emotions outIf you just let everything bottle up inside of you, the process of letting go will be much harder.
Be angry, be sad, cry your eyes out, be thankful for having and learning from this experience, be happy that you don’t have to see that guy anymore….
When I read the text that changed everything (that sounds so cheesy but still) I cried for about half an hour and was sad for the rest of the day. The next day, I got angry. I turned up my music and sang along really loudly.
I’m currently in the phase where I’m happy and moving on. I listen to happy and sassy songs, I’m distracting myself and I think I’m doing a good job so far.
Also, journal the whole experience. This helps a lot for letting your feelings out and in a few months you will read what you have written down. You will be glad that you let go of this guy and you will be proud of how you have grown from this heartbreak.

Tell a friend about it
Talk to a friend about the heartbreak. Your friend will listen to your rambles, give you advice and distract you. I didn’t tell a lot of people at school who my crush was so I spoke about my experience with friends who don’t live in my hometown. That way no rumors made their way at school or in my friendship group.

Make a playlist
Creating a playlist is very helpful for almost every situation. Pick songs where the artist sings the exact same things you feel right now. You should have some songs in this playlist that are good for crying, songs that make you want to scream and some songs that are sassy.
Here are a few songs from my “Moving On” playlist (mostly sassy songs):

“Power” by Little Mix ft. Stormzy
“Alive” by Cimorelli
“Green Light” by Lorde
“Out of the woods” by Taylor Swift
“Good Day” by Yellow Claw, DJ Snake and Elliphant
“Bad Liar” by Selena Gomez
“Rise” by Katy Perry
“BO$$” by Fifth Harmony
“Fight Song” by Rachel Platten
“Problem” by Ariana Grande ft. Iggy Azalea
“Single Ladies (Put a Ring on it)” by Beyoncé

Let go and move on

If you really want to move on from this guy, make a serious reality check. How likely is it that he is going to magically change? If it’s rather unlikely, LET GO and MOVE ON. I have to give myself a look here because deep down I know that my “ex-crush” is not going to decide that he wants me suddenly or if he does, he’d probably be too shy to tell me.
You have to find that recognition and realize that you’re better off without this stress.
Or, like my Dad always says: “There are plenty of moms with attractive sons.”

IMG_4354

Distract yourself
I know, I said that you have to let all of your feelings out, but don’t spend a week in your room crying.
Do things! Go out for walks, take photos, travel, read a book, sort out your room…
Or do it this way: say yes to everything for a few days. It doesn’t matter if it’s just going grocery shopping with your mom or doing other chores, you are distracted.

Hang out with your friends and family. They have probably noticed that there was something bothering you and it’s nice to catch up and hang out with them.
I went to a local café with my friends the other day and just hanging out with them made me happy again.
Also, I went on loads of adventures with a very good friend of mine and I had so much fun!
Blogging has helped me a lot too. Thinking about photo editing, my next blog posts and comments was the perfect distraction!

Don’t stalk them
I know, I know. You really want to know what they are doing right now, where they are, if they have found someone new or if they miss you. But for your own safety, DON’T STALK THEM!!!! It will hurt you even more and moving on will not make this easier.

Don’t be mean
After everything that has happened you SHOULD NOT be mean to the guy that hurt you  that you broke up with / who broke up with you, … (depending on your situation)
You are both still humans. Be nice to him when he talks to you and don’t gossip about him. That’s just not nice. I’m sure that you wouldn’t want him to do that to you.

What are your tips on how to survive a heartbreak?

20 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thank you so much for this! Some of your tips I already follow while the other ones were new to me. A few months ago my boyfriend broke up with me and those first two weeks were really rough. So I really appreciate these in depth suggestions.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you 🙂 hope your are doing well now too xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amazing blog. This is something I have struggled with for about 7 weeks now, the break up was not normal but never the less some really inspirational stuff there. x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I had my first heartbreak two days ago.
    i’ll keep your points noted. thankyou.
    great words tho!
    also check my pieces, i try to write random things.
    hope you will like them!!
    http://www.shubha810.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So important! More people need to know this. Great blog.

    I write. I would love your feedback on my blog do check it out https://iamgayatriblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sorry to hear this but I love the tips you had to offer. It shows growth, it shows that you’ve already learnt some of the lessons to be gained from such an experience. One of the lessons I have learnt about heartbreak is that we can and do recover. Cry if you have to, be angry and disappointed even but NEVER believe you’re not good enough because you can and will experience love again. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! ❤️ Honestly, I think I’m almost over this guy and I’m so glad I got to experience all of this. Through the heartbreak I have learned a lot of things and I feel much better now. xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Relationships are lessons in themselves. Just promise yourself not to shut everyone else out because of one negative experience. There are still some really nice guys out there and you are destined to find one when the time is right. Stay strong. have a wonderful day!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I love your tips, especially the playlist!

    Have a lovely day!
    xx Kris

    https://dreamingofpink.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Amazing post my lovely 💛 I wish I’d been able to read this a couple of years ago when I went through my first heartbreak. Hope you’re okay angel .xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

