Mental Health Mini Challenge-Review

Hello everybody!

As you might know, in the US May is the month of mental health. In these four weeks you take extra care of yourself and of course of your mental health. I think this is an amazing project because everyone from all over the world can participate. You can join a challenge or make your own, you can help others and it’s good for yourself.

The lovely Lauren’s notebook created her own mini mental health challenge and I really liked the idea so I participated as well!
This post is a wrap-up of the challenge. I will summarize what I did every day and how I implemented the tasks Lauren came up with.

Day 1: Allow yourself to be happy, and let go of any negativity. Celebrate this day.
I was mad because of something that happened at school on that day and my emotions filled up in me until I couldn’t take it anymore. When I came home I discussed my school day with my mom and I screamed a lot because I wanted to let my anger out. That ended up being very funny and my mom and I were both cry-laughing.
The whole negativity inside of me was gone and it felt good to laugh about the situation with my mom.

IMG_4354.jpg
“Don’t worry, be happy!”

Day 2: Pamper yourself with a face mask.
Instead of a face mask I used a face scrub to get all of the gross stuff off of my face. For some reason, I feel much better when I have used a face scrub in the evening. I feel refreshed, clean and happy. Taking a shower is also very helpful!

Day 3: Have a cup of tea and enjoy the moment.
As I don’t like tea that much I drank a hot chocolate instead. I cuddled up on my sofa with a book and enjoyed the moment a lot. I love doing this because I feel very peaceful and it’s nice to just relax.

Day 4: Meditate and breathe.
Sometimes when I’m stressed out I will meditate. There are a lot of chill-out excercises for when you’re anxious and these help a lot too. You close your eyes, think of a place where you feel safe and relaxed and then you just take slow and deep breaths.
I loved doing this because afterwards I felt like I could solve all of my problems.

Day 5: Create a mantra, write it all over a page. Repeat it to yourself throughout the day.
I didn’t come up with my own mantra, but I repeated this quote in my head all day long:

“I can and I will.”

Day 6: Sit outside for a while and get some vitamin D.
I sat outside in the sun and wrote my thoughts down. This was so nice because the sun beamed, the air was so fresh and the nature beautiful. I need to do this more often!

Day 7: Go to bed early.
I went to bed at 9:30 pm and had eight hours of sleep. When I woke up the next day, I had so much energy and motivation! A good night’s sleep is so important!

Day 8: Clean up your environment — make the bed, do the dishes, clean surfaces.
I made my bed, folded up my laundry, rearranged the pillows on my couch… I actually really enjoy cleaning up my room because then everything is clean and neat and I feel more organized immediately.

Day 9: Color something, whether it’s a mandala or a coloring book. Turn off your brain for a little while.
I own a Johanna Basford colouring book and I absolutely love colouring her designs! She is such a talented artist! It takes a long time till you can actually finish one of her mandalas, but the final result looks great! I love doing this whilst listening to an audio book.

IMG_1150.JPG

Day 10: Take a walk.
I love going on walks! I listen to music that I love, I think about deep things in life and just enjoy the nature. I go on walks quite often, at least once or twice a week. Sometimes I will go outside if I’m bored, I am stressed out or I just want to spend time alone.

Day 11: Spend some extra time journaling.
I have three journals that I’m using at the moment.
Two of them are Q&A books where you answer a question every day. I love these because you have to think about a different topic every day and it’s fun to answer questions. I own this one by PotterStyle and this one by Kikki.K.
I love using a thankful journal and I have written a post on mine here.
I spend about 15 minutes a day answering the questions and writing down the things I’m grateful for. This is a time where I reflect on my day and where I’m calm.

Day 12: Make a gratitude log in your journal and fill it in whenever you feel grateful.
I used my thankful journal!

Day 13: Do a yoga workout.
Instead of a yoga workout, I went for a run. I felt like I ran away from my problems.
I really want to try yoga sometime! I think it’s very relaxing and fun.

Day 14: Write down three good things about today.
1. I slept in till 10 am
2. I bought myself the Zoella Beauty “Sweet Inspirations” body spray which smells so good!
3. I redecorated my room and I’m super happy with how it turned out!

All in all I loved doing this challenge! Taking care of your mental health is super important and it’s great to do small things that can really change your mood.
I realized that these tasks are so simple, yet so easy to master! These are habits we should create and include into every single day of our lives.

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. This was so lovely to read – I’m definitely going to do this! X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks like fun! I gotta do this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad the challenge went well for you! I actually did a really horrible job with keeping up with mine — I think you’ve inspired me to restart it! Sounds like you got a lot out of it 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

