Breaking out of the nutshell

Hello everybody!

A few days ago I went to a friend’s house and we had one of the deepest conversations ever about being ourselves and being confident. This is a topic which I think about very often and I really want to share my thoughts about it with you.

Enjoy reading!

Being in a nutshell and breaking out of it 

So the main thing we talked about was being in a nutshell.

In the last couple of months I realized that I hadn’t talked to people who weren’t my friends, I had stopped raising my hand in class and I was very quiet in general.
I told her that I felt like I have been in a phase where I wasn’t myself and I just hid my real personality from other people.

As we talked I recognized that my shy and quiet behaviour had to stop. I wanted to change.

She said that she had noticed my behaviour as well and that she was glad that I saw that I wanted to make things different.

But now I have began making progress in breaking out of the shell and I’m so proud of myself (sounds arrogant but still…).
I began talking to other students from my classes who I don’t really know. For example I’ll make a joke or I’ll ask them a question like ‘How was your weekend?’. That way I get to know them better and I get to know a lot of people better. Now I know that I can easily go to them and ask them for help in a class or just start a small conversation.
Also I started rasing my hand more often in class. In the past I was scared of what the other students would think about my answer or the way I spoke about the topic and so on.
But now I understood that I’ll never be able to get into a person’s head and that I’ll never be able to see what they are thinking at this exact moment. Worrying about other people’s opinions won’t make the situation better. I try to raise my hand in class 1-3 times and so far this has worked quite well!
I’m making little steps but it’s easier this way than setting a goal that is too high to reach.

My personality has a lot of different varieties. Sometimes I can be very shy meeting somebody new and sometimes I’ll go straight up to a new person and introduce myself. I’m a person who you can laugh a lot with and make stupid jokes but also I’m a person who will sit with you at a coffee table and have a deep talk. Some days I like being around my friends and talkin to them about everything under the sun and some days I just like to be alone in my room reading a thrilling book.
That’s my personality and I will show and embrace it every day. I’m sick of hiding myself, just because I was scared of what other people will think of me.
For example I don’t care anymore when I laugh really loudly with my friend about an inside joke and everybody is staring at us because we are sticking out.

What I’m trying to say is that if you feel like you are not really being yourself or that you act a certain way just to get people to appreciate you, you should break out of that shell!

I have been so happy with how I broke out of that shell and how I just am myself. I am in a good mood almost every day and I love living my life like this.

Being yourself will change so much in your life. People will see you differently in a positive way and they will like you for being you. Nobody else can be like you and you can change the way you want to live your life.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Firstly, I LOVE the picture for this post. It is gorgeous! Secondly, I appreciated reading your open and honest thoughts in this blog post. The Myers Briggs personality type testing is interesting. I found it extremely helpful to know my personality type. It explains a lot about how and why we do the things we do. It is really fascinating. Have a look into it and let me know what you think.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

